Daily Prompt:Against All Odds / choose the fish bowl wisely…

Daily Prompt: Against All Odds

Tell us about a situation where you’d hoped against all hope, where the odds were completely stacked against you, yet you triumphed. Be sure to describe your situation in full detail. Tell us all about your triumph in all its glory.

Finding the humor everyday and writing about it, is not always easy. Truthfully, some days you can fall beneath the waves.

I think my problem is I live in a partial imaginary world. Sure, it is fun, but it’s imaginary.

Currently, in this imaginary world I have launched a new writing career, never a need to stress over finances, and living peacefully and harmoniously each and every day. In the real world I have to keep reminding myself that it can be obtained.  I just want, no I need, instantaneous results. Patience is a virtue.

In my real world, some days are longer than others, and some days are tougher than others. I am finding myself restless after a short complacent period of sick children and snow days that called in my mothering duties.

My brain needs a reawakening, my spirit needs a challenge, and I need a routine.

A paycheck would be the icing on the cake.

I love this home life, the ability to be at a child’s beck and call, something I have never had the opportunity to do before. It’s nice knowing I am qualified in my mothering role. However, I see it and I feel it, they are needing me less and less.

Their little wings are really sprouting and gaining momentum and it is only a matter of time till they fly the coop. My sarcasm of child raising resonates in almost every post, yet I demonstrate love through sarcasm. I live for the moments that they bring to my life that inspire me, that cause me to reflect, that allow me to live, love, and learn through their lives. I only hope they have learned as much from me as I have from them.

I have flown around this post in true hummingbird style. I originally began writing today to deal with my frustration of unemployment.

Poor Norman Betta! If I think my life is stagnant at the moment with out a career, and I am going crazy with the hum drum of my days as soon as I put the children on the bus…just imagine what his days are like?

Let’s look at life from the perspective of a fish. Shall we?

Norman swims everyday in his bowl, around and around. Same old stuff day after day. Yes, insert my humming Pink Floyd song here. His only excitement is probably when the cat sticks his paw into the bowl, or stands above him to drink the water. Probably the fear of being eaten by this large beast of an animal is the only adrenaline that flows through his scaly body, remotely making him feel alive.

Life.

It is so grand.

There is so much to take advantage of, so much to do, a world of opportunities, yet you must have the courage to search, to find, to live. In my imaginary world, I imagine this world, it’s taking that first step out of my bowl that is proving difficult and frustrating.

The world is your oyster. Let’s just stick with aquatic metaphors.

Yet, some of us live in a fish bowl, maybe that is by choice? But I find it hard that any one would choose to live that way. Day after day. However, I know that sometimes it seems like there are no choices.  I right now am once again falling prey to the fish bowl way of life.

Looking for a job is a job. The waiting is the hardest part. The feeling that I have been beaten down, the self afflicting questioning of my own worth, not to mention the want of needing to do something.

Don’t get me wrong. Losing my job, well, that was one of the best things that ever happened to me. I loved teaching, I was good at my job, and I enjoyed my classes…but I was not in the right environment. I knew that. Yet year after year I swam in that  fish bowl. It is hard for me to say if I would have left on my own, but when you wake up and you are not happy with what you do, who you are, or where you are in life, well it is time.

Lobster to the pot.

When I am feeling like the odds are stacked against me, as I am right now in my search for employment, I have to remember my home is the oyster filled with pearls. This is a potent lesson my children have taught me.

It’s our fish bowl.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/04/daily-prompt-against-all-odds/

2012-08-01 14.29.28

This entry was posted in daily prompt, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt:Against All Odds / choose the fish bowl wisely…

  1. This is also one of my ways to help with the frustration of unemployment. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

