Daily Prompt: Obstacles / unlocking my doors…

 Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course

Think about what you wanted to accomplish last week. Did you? What are the things that hold you back from doing everything you’d like to do?

Since last night and into this morning I have been walking around feeling like I have been holding my breath. I am perusing blogs and websites galore, basically psyching myself out. I know yesterday I said I write for myself, and I do, without caring who likes what I write. But I would be lying if I said that I did not want people to like my blog, or better, follow my blog. There is a certain liberating factor to blogging, at least for me, that allows me to write knowing that strangers, friends, and family are reading the trappings of my mind.

Deep breath out…whew.

Now I am going to tell you a little secret.

This whole technological world frustrates me! Most of the time I act like I am 16, but when it comes to this techno world, which mind you I participate within, I feel sometimes like I am 60! Thank goodness I have a 13-year-old to fill in the gaps as to what I am missing. Although, as I found out the other day, it is not cool to make comments on his Instagram account, since my comments were deleted immediately.

Trying to stay on top of trends is the hardest factor, and there is not enough time in a day to learn all that I want to. Yes, I am currently unemployed, and much of my day is spent trying to self educate myself on the world, some in hopes of finding a job, but mostly to keep myself from going insane. I could just be substituting while I try to figure out what I want to do when I grow up, but I have come to the realization that maybe teaching is no longer for me?

It is like the shifting of the tectonic plates within my brain, not sure how the plates are going to collide, but I know that something else is forming.

I could just give up, call it quits, throw in the towel, walk away, take to my bed. However, the only obstacles within my way are the ones that I place before me, and they only become obstacles if I let them.  2012-08-01 14.30.29

“I’ve got the key to my castle in the air, but whether I can unlock the door remains to be seen.”
― 
Louisa May AlcottLittle Women

This entry was posted in daily prompt, life, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt: Obstacles / unlocking my doors…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | The Wandering Poet

Leave a Reply

