Fill in the blanks…

As a recently unemployed teacher, reeling in the fact that finding a job after so many years of having a job is difficult, and suddenly being in the role of a stay at home parent, resumes change. Life changes. Jobs change, but the one thing I stick to…if you don’t like what you do, it is not worth doing. I love my new resume, love my new job, wish the pay was better and afforded me this lifestyle, more than anything, wish the recognition was there, not just at home, but with our society.

There is no place on my resume to list the hardest job I have ever had. There is no way to describe my multi-tasking abilities, able to assemble a team to get along and work together, effective communicator among rival competitors, able to organize group activities, able to mediate and negotiate both sides of an argument, strong problem-solving abilities, conceptualizing new ideas and instilling the self-motivation to accomplish those ideas, demonstrating leadership daily by instructing team building activities, building confidence daily by developing intrinsic rewards, setting goals daily and helping to achieve those goals on a daily basis, teaching others to communicate clearly, and being a strong listener.

I am tired of writing resumes using “buzz words” to make myself sound better than I am. I am tired of interviews asking me what I have accomplished, or what I can achieve, and I am tired of the condescending interviewer asking me those questions.

Yesterday my children got off the school bus and I watched as they all raced to be the first to get off the bus and beat each other to some clearly designated spot. One little boy turns around, puts his hands on his head, wiggling his fingers and shaking his hips side to side, “nanny, nanny, boo, boo” he says as he mocks the losers. That one gesture with so many actions speaks volumes in kid speak. As a grown-up I am in awe of how easy it is to express yourself as a child, none of that resume vocabulary to attempt to express yourself in some other jargon, that when done, you are not even sure who you are. As a parent, I love watching my kids get off the bus, hearing about their day, setting the table, eating together and catching up on our day without the rush, and having the ability to feel successful and happy at my place of employment.

Personally, I think my children are happier. They are getting better grades than when I was working. The atmosphere amongst the children is less stressed, not always the case with the parents when discussing bills and trying to adjust to the loss of income, but that is the multi-tasking abilities that I mentioned previously, and the ability to propel towards the end goal achieving positive results.

As a teacher, I worked the same hours as my children so scheduling those parent teacher conferences were always hard. Seeing a school performance, attending a field trip, always required me to take a day off, not to mention a sick child day. My kids have missed more days this year, legitimately, due to the fact that I could stay home with them. Can’t tell you how many times I sent them to school sick, or I had sick children in class, due to working parents. Wonder how those kids perform in school especially when it is a standardized testing day?

Sometimes I wonder what is most important?

I say that I write in a hummingbird style, but really the significance of a hummingbird means so much more.

“The hummingbird spirit animal symbolizes the enjoyment of life and lightness of being. Those who have the hummingbird as a totem are invited to enjoy the sweetness of life, lift up negativity wherever it creeps in and express love more fully in their daily endeavors. This fascinating bird is capable of the most amazing feats despite its small size, such as traveling great distances or being able to fly backwards. By affinity with the hummingbird, those who have this bird as totem may be encouraged to develop their adaptability and resiliency while keeping a playful and optimistic outlook.”

You can call my personal references to see if I am qualified for the job, chances are they won’t be able to give you an answer until they have grown up. However, I assure you that based on my personal upbringing, I feel I am highly capable of the job.

Oh crap! Just as I have printed my resume on fine stationary, and linked it to websites galore, keeping it to one page of my astronomical qualifications, I realized I forgot to mention another one of my strong attributes. Children have their gestures that speak volumes, I have mine and it involves another bird if you should have any doubts about my qualifications, and just like the kid who races off the bus, I can present it with much the same gesticulation and meaning as a child.

Please feel free to comment if you need to further discuss, as I am available to meet at your convenience.

P.S. to my youngest incredible following fan, follow in my footsteps only so long as I lead, and prepare to write your resume in the way that only a world can keep up with, because you my darling, won’t be able to stick to one page on your own accomplishments. You are going to soar! I am looking to you for a reference.

This entry was posted in life, louie behogan, love, memoir, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fill in the blanks…

  1. Françoise says:

    Happy that you are happy! Congratulation on your job! 😉 and Thank You on behalf of a better world.

Leave a Reply

