How much is that doggie in the window?

Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach

by Cheri Lucas Rowlands on December 10, 2013

Was there a toy or thing you always wanted as a child, during the holidays or on your birthday, but never received? Tell us about it.

My parents were cruel pranksters when I was a child. They used to place the best gift under the Christmas tree with a card from Mr. and Mrs. Somebody (can’t remember their names), and tell me that this was a present from my “real” parents. It really was the best present!

Since I was born I have loved one thing. Animals, specifically dogs. From the time I was 6 years old, I lived in a place where no dogs were allowed, but that did not stop me from wishing for a dog every Christmas. Yet, again an opportunity for my parents to have some fun at my expense.

Guess what? Every year I did get a dog for Christmas! A cruel, taunting, battery operated dachshund that barked excessively. Yip, Yip, Yip, Yip! It was their cruel way of appeasing me, and it was my cruel way of annoying them by constantly needing new batteries.

I kept wishing that my real parents would come and save me from these people and I knew that they would bring me a “real” dog.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/10/out-of-your-reach/

This entry was posted in daily prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How much is that doggie in the window?

  1. rorylayne says:

    p.s I know where your real parents are…hehehehe

Leave a Reply

