Happiness is a way of travel, not a destination…

If you recall, the whole reasoning for my starting this blog was because my daughters wanted to start their own blog for our neighborhood. I think it is a fantastic idea and a chance for my daughters and their friends to not only get to know their neighbors but to express their creativity. One likes to draw, one likes to read, they both like to write, and together they are like the two old men in the balcony on the Muppets.

Then again, you would have to live in my neighborhood to understand why they want to create this blog. Step back in time when people were out on a daily basis, you could walk next door and borrow sugar, you might find a bag with tasty empananda’s and sexy new underwear on your porch (no joke), the children ride their bikes, sell their cookies, or their painted rocks door to door, they might even walk your dog, and you might even get to nominate and vote for a social chair to keep the activities flowing in the neighborhood on their upcoming blog. Recently, even my own mother moved in across the street. It’s a great neighborhood.

Truly, I moved here years ago thinking there would be an occasional hello to a neighbor, I never expected the entire neighborhood to become friends, almost family. In my eyes it is like a Norman Rockwell painting.

I am feeling very happy just reflecting on these things and I am looking forward to my New Year’s Resolution of letter writing just to let these people know how grateful I am to have them in my life.

Someone once said life is not about the destination, it is the journey. I think for so long I have been focused on the destination and unable to enjoy the journey. It is not until recently, I am really sitting back and looking at the journey and the stops along the way and thinking, “wow, it’s a wonderful life.”

I just finished a 5K with my girls: my daughters, and some great friends and their daughters. That’s the exercise for my body, also my mind, but truly it is the writing that I need to release the endorphins. This week just writing, making myself think, typing those letters on my keyboard, creating a blog and knowing these thoughts are not private anymore, well it has awakened my soul.

I am a collector of paper, as I have come to realize while cleaning out the drawer of my night stand last night. Stumbled along a fortune from a fortune cookie. Yes, I collect these too. In fact, one evening on a cleaning binge, I found so many of them and was not sure what to do with them, I glued them to the back of my medicine cabinet door. I figured the next time someone decided to snoop they would have some inspirational quotes to enjoy. The one that resonates with me today:

Image

I have spent all these years searching for adventures, and along the way, I have found many. I have been on so many journeys, both of the good and bad, and along each journey I have gained or I have shed whatever helps me to grow. I think now the adventure is truly within, and I will be on that journey enjoying the ride.

I will prepare to land, but leave you with three quotes.

“Do one thing every day that scares you. ” Eleanor Roosevelt

“Believe you can and you’re halfway there.” Theodore Roosevelt

“It is never too late to be what you might have been.” George Eliot

This entry was posted in friends, life, louie behogan, love, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

